X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recording Guitars 101?

Okay. I'm new to recording with live sound, as I have previously recorded guitars with a digital processor plugged straight into a computer... So I need a crash course on everything I need and everything I need to know about recording guitars at home. The more detailed you can be, the better. My budget is pretty tiny at the moment, so price is most certainly an obstacle.

I have my guitar, my amp, and audacity. I know I'll need an amp mic.... What make and model do y'all swear by? Or at least, what specs? (Compressor, dynamic, condenser, small diaphragm, large diaphragm, cardioid, figure 8, etc., all of which I know absolutely nothing about). Between the mic and the computer, do I need anything else, or can I use an XLR-to-USB cable straight in? If I do need anything else...make and model?

I know enough to know that microphone placement, type of room, and amp placement within the room all make a difference in the sound. But I don't really know anything about how to manipulate all of that.

Plus there's probably a ton of things that I don't even know to ask. So any and all help is greatly appreciated!

The standard mic used for hundreds of thousands of recordings has been

the Shure SM57which can be bought for under a hundred bucks.

Another great mic which I discovered works well is the PG57 which

is about half the cost of an SM57. I actually switched over to using them

over the SM57 because they sound better on my amps.

Built better too, very heavy and rugged. There are plenty of other great mics

you can use. Its just a matter of trying them out and comparing the results.

The SM57 is a dynamic mic that has a very focused poxcimity effect.

It doesnt pick up allot of sound from the sides so its good at isolating its

sound and preventing bleedover from other instruments.

If you google yo the frequency chart for the mic you will see it has