Harmony Central Forums
Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will the mixwiz 16:2 meet my needs? Need routing help/mixer advice.

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will the mixwiz 16:2 meet my needs? Need routing help/mixer advice.

Hey all,

I have been using a CR1604 VLZ (not pro) for over 10 years and am now on my 2nd time of ribbon cable issues. This time it is Main Right and CR Left.

Anyway, let me explain how I have this thing hooked up in my home studio/practice space.

Channels 1-4 = extra mic inputs/pres for whatever someone might need. My main pres are RNP and RME Fireface.

Channels 9-10 inputs from the RME main outputs. Basically these 2 channels are used for all sound that comes from my DAW. I keep them panned hard L&R and keep trim and faders to unity. I have this set up this way so I can easily route the output from my DAW to:

Sub 1-2: feeds my powered monitors

Sub 3-4: feeds a home stereo setup (CR volume knob is routed to this group and CR outs feed my 4 channel headphone amp)

Main: feeds my PA speakers

Channels 12-16 are used for PA mics that the band uses for vox. These are simply routed to MAIN and only used for VOX during practice sessions.

As you can see, I believe I'm using the most out of its sub group capabilities but at the same time the ribbon cable fiasco has left me soured when it comes to purchasing another Mackie product.

I hear nothing but great things about the mixwiz but can it compete with the Mackie's subgroup stuff? Could I possibly have this many things connected using its 6 aux sends somehow?

Anyone familiar with both to give me any sort of advice as to what to look into or do?

Basically I need a small mixer capable of handling band practice but a robust monitoring environment for when I record and mix.