No announcement yet.

Did I Do This "Correctly"?

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Did I Do This "Correctly"?

I wanted to take a track from a ripped CD into Audacity for editing practice.

I had ripped this CD using the "Windows Method" ( i. e. Proprietary Codec) so, naturally, Audacity wasn't going to accept it until I had converted the file.

I went here:

http://audio.online-convert.com/convert-to-mp3

to give it a shot to see how it would do.

Under "optional settings" I chose 320 kbps for the bit rate, 44.1 for the sampling rate and made sure the audio channels were set to stereo. After it was converted, I uploaded the file successfully into Audacity and gave it a critical listen.

I didn't hear anything wrong , like artifacts and the such and the whole thing sounded pretty darn good, Mp3 or not. I seem to hear a lot of grumbling about Mp3 quality, or, apparent lack thereof.

The thing I need to know, is if I chose the "right" settings. I'm still learning about WAV. and Mp3 and all sorts of other formats , codecs and stuff like that, so this thread is going to go beyond this initial post.

What settings would any of you had chosen? And why ?

http://soundcloud.com/skyy38

when the final audio file off the CD must be MP3, then you did all steps correct

Comment

• Rudolf von Hagenwil
      Editing a comment

of course usually the MP3 off a CD is done directly from the CD, with no step over Windows *.wma codec