X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie needs advice on recording violin and acoustic guitar

hi guys, an acoustic group is about to record in my studio, despite knowing im not a pro.

they are a 3 piece group, violin, acoustic guitar and vocals. I have never recorded violin before and the last time I recorded acoustic guitar with AT2020, it was muddy, perhaps the positioning.

so I need you guys' advice on which mics/placement to use for the violin and guitar, and if its possible to get a good recording with vocals as well all at the same time

the condensers i have are two AKG Perception 170 , two AT2020

dynamics : i5, om5, two SM57

I'm thinking i5 would make a good vocal mic for recording in a loud/live setting, cause I really like the sweet sound. 

any help greatly appreciated

You might want to get more mics, depending on how you want to record.

I use MXL 990 and 991 condensors for most of my acoustic stuff. Either works by itself, but ive been expiramenting with dynamic micing. I have the 991 pointed at the soundhole, probably 5 or 6 inches back and coming in at an angle. Then i have the 990 set up around a foot back, coming in from the opposite angle. 

Not sure how to do a violin. The fist thing i'd try would be my 990 (or any large diaphragm condensor you can use) and set it somewhere close (but out of the way of the bow, obviously) to the side and point it at the F hole.

Sorry i cant help a whole lot, i'm not very familiar with the mics your using. I've got pretty limited experience myself, but that's how i'd try to handle it with my gear. Hope it helps a bit. 

Comment

Howdy! I use an AKG S1000 for the violin. I've been playing violin for a loooooooong time--have a degree in music, concentration: violin--and I record myself frequently to see how I'm sounding. 

The best position is about 6 inches above the musicians. If there's too much treble, move the mics back a bit at a time until it gets *right*.