Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Extreme Newby Question--Recording device

I came into this knowing I know nothing and after reading the forums am even more confused.  Husband is a musician back before the computer days. I'm a former author.  For the heck of it, mostly for our own entertainment, we've been having a blast creating a couple of songs.  What started with a guitar and mic run thru the kids christmas amps:-), has turned into a pretty decent PA and his half stack.  Keyboard... Mixing program.  We really just play, record on my cell, listen back and have a good time.

Recently we decided to record so he can individually add the other insturments he plays.  I wiped everything off of one my old lap tops and loaded the mixing program.  Hit record...played a song and listened back.  I don't know what the hell you call the distorted mess that played back.  It's almost like the music is too much/loud for the laptop to take in???  Relocated the laptop, tried a couple computer mics.  No good.  It's distorted and ROUGH.

So, then I sent one of the nice clean versions previously recorded on my cell phone to my email.  Played it on the computer and it sounds great!  Cell phone records better than the laptop?! It takes FOREVER to send a song from the cell to the laptop via email.  So my naive question is.......Is there a device that we can record cleanly onto, then transfer onto the computer???

You're lacking technical details, but my guess is you're trying to record through the laptops sound card.

Windows sound cards are made from a $2 converter chip and maybe two $.50 preamp op amp chips. Laptops may have a stereo line level input that doubles as microphone input.