X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A quIck hello and a request for a shove in the right direction

Hi, my name is Steve and I live in Turkey but spend a lot of time in the US. I am a singer/guitarist song writer who performs in local bars etc. I have never been into a recording studio nor have I ever done any recording at home.
    However, with some time on my hands and a thirst for anything new, I would like to "have a go" at home recording and to that end have bought or already had the following equipment: Burns solid body guitar, Ovation custom Elite electro/acoustic guitar, TCHelicon MP 75 dynamic mike, Alesis SR 18 drum machine, TCHelicon Voicelive play GTX, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 audio interface, a very powerful PC and Reaper DAW. I also have a large spare room to work in.
    Hopefully enough to get me started in my new hobby.
    I am trying to achieve a quality recording of both covers, think solo acoustic sixties pop to modern country, and also my own songs and would like to add drums base and additional instruments such as slide guitar perhaps via the purchase of software such as Band in a Box or similar.
    So to the request for advice, firstly is there any obvious points based on what I have against what I am trying to achieve. But more specifically, what order does one undertake the recording. For example, if I want the song to include, acoustic guitar, lead guitar, lead vocals, harmonies, harmonica, drums, base. Where do I start? Perhaps click track and playing the rhythm guitar, then vocals, then drums etc. or should I lay down a throwaway track first of guitar and vocals and the use that as a guide to be disposed of at the end.
    Anyway that's me so any and all help gratefully received. I am slowly working my way through all of the posts here and it is full of great advice.
    Cheers Steve.
    Cheers Steve
    my website http://www.macthehat.com/