VOM1T May 2018

garthman

• Members

May already. Gosh! And I've had no chance to record anything having spent a pleasant week in Somerset. So I'll be along later.

But please post your submissions when you're ready.

PS. We did discuss how (or if) VOM1T should continue a few years ago. It was suggested that perhaps we should have an open-ended VOM where people could contribute whenever they wished but we stayed with the monthly format because IIRC it was felt that it was a spur to record new stuff. Does the open-ended format have any appeal? Or are we happy with the monthly format? Any new ideas?

• Members

By open ended, if you are describing a VOM whereby people contribute their music under the VOM banner, on any given day of the month, it should work just fine and removes the monthly formality.

Anecdotal -

In the waaay back (2004) when I was a noob here I suggested such a thing but people were not responsive. Some years later I think it was bramz118 (I'm hazy on that) who suggested the VOM1T name and another prominent member (Chris Baker - aka Stackabones) launched it as the host of the monthly thing we're now familiar with. There was already some discussion about music contributions but I'm pretty sure it was the VOM1T name suggestion that got it launched. I was fine with it but it still wasn't the laissez-faire culture I thought the music aspect of the forum should evolve into.