Recent international carry on guitar experience

Emory

• Members

Last week I flew EVA from Seattle to Bangkok. I load up on goodies when visit USA, as I live in Thailand. This time included lovely Vox semi hollow with case (putting this in acoustic as more fragile than electrics). Check in agent told me could carry on if 39" or less in length, got out tape measure and case is 43.5" (as would be most guitars I reckon). My reply was "Only guitars less than 39" would probably be travel guitars. I've been traveling EVA for more than 20 years, always bring a guitar back with me and never had a problem. In fact was told once prefer I carry it so if damaged would be my fault. FAA clearly states people can carry on guitars".

He went away for a few minutes, came back with print out of company policy, high lighted 39" sentence. He suggested I check guitar, move some things from my second bag (carry on size), and take two carry ons. Thought a minute, then recalled carryon had quart of maple syrup, Aussie licorice, bag of coffee beans.... all would have gone in TSA bin.

Asked to see supervisor. He shows up, repeats 39" story, company policy regs. I said doesn't matter what your company policy is if it does not comply with FAA regs. Federal law trumps company policy. Suggested he look at FAA web page on computer. Was assertive and kept my cool. He finally said "just this one time" and depends on decision of cabin crew, may have to check at gate, etc. Face saving I suppose.

No problem putting in overhead bin (747) with room to spare, same for 777 from Taipei to Bangkok.

I would suggest wise traveler might wish to print out FAA page for back up. https://www.transportation.gov/brief...travel-musical Under the rule, musical instruments as carry-on items are treated no differently from other carry-on items and the stowage space should be made available for all carry-on items on a “first come, first served” basis. -