A few questions that I need help with. And a introduction to me...

Carmenrago30

• Members

Hi Everyone,

I am new here. I've never been part of a forum before and I know I am probably going about this the wrong way. I'm sure there have been plenty of discussions about tone woods. I have a few questions that maybe you all can help me with.

My name is Carmen. I have been playing guitar since I was 13 and I am now 34. I am totally self taught. I just started having a guy come to my apartment to teach me theory and try to correct some bad habits in my technique. After basically 20 years of playing it's been a bit tough to break old habits. I'm 3 lessons in. I was getting frustrated trying to talk about things that I didn't have the words for. I know what things are but I don't know what to call them. 5ths and 7ths, augmented perfect major intervals etc. I hear them but never knew what they were called. I'm trying to fix that now and hopefully not too late in my life.

I have have owned many guitars and I could start a store with the various pedals and gear that I own. Amps that I have bought and sold trying to get that perfect tone. I'm sure there are a lot of tone guys here that know what I'm talking about. I'm always searching. What I've come to find is that I enjoy playing acoustic much more than electric. That statement is slowly bringing me to my point. Slowly.

I currently own a 2016 gibson studio T that I use with a vox night train tube amp. I have two acoustic guitars. The first one is a Breedlove 25th anniversary koa concert with cutaway. And the second is a seagull maritime dreadnought solid wood series with cutaway.

The breedlove has laminate sides and back and as my ears progress and I play better guitars I have the itch to upgrade. I love the way the Breedlove feels and looks. So, I think I am going to either take a small step up to the stage series that are all solid wood or plunge in and have a custom built by one of their dealers.