Stainless steel refret

Freeman Keller

• Members

I'm posting this thread for three reasons. First, I just completed this little project and thought someone might be interested. Second, I had read a lot about stainless frets but had not actually done a refret with them - this gave me a chance to try it. Third, I've been having a discussion at the Electric forum about refrets and wanted to show a person there just how I do it (not that its the best way, but its what works for me).

I've done a few partial and complete refrets using standard 18% nickel/silver wire and of course I have fretted the 16 guitars that I've built to date. I'm not an expert but I think I do a pretty good job and in my humble opinion, good frets are the starting point for a good setup and playability. Lots of people, including many electric players, have used stainless steel frets - they are much harder than nickel/silver and last a lot longer. I've also heard horror stories about how they wear out tools and how hard they are to work with in general. This little Yamaha came across my bench wanting the first 6 frets replace and the owner said he would like stainless. OK, lets find out...

The fretboard was in pretty good shape - one divot at the 3rd fret of the second string but otherwise only minor depressions. It is bound in rosewood which makes the job considerably harder. The frets from 7 to the end of the board were pretty good, as is common on acoustics, and I could get SS wire of the same height and width to match them.

First thing is to measure and write down the critical action measurements as the guitar was when it came into the shop. Next remove the strings and adjust the truss rod so the neck is as flat as I can get it. There are people who use notched straight edges and all sorts of fancy jigs to preload stress into the neck - I simply try to get my thinnest feeler gauge in (0.002") - when can't fit it at any fret I figure the neck is straight

IMG_2925_zpsvzds7amk.jpg