Upgrading Takamine, how? Please help newbie :-(

Sheepdog81

• Members

Hi, this is my first post. I am a mediocre guitarist despite having played for years (being an all rounder on instruments is my forte) and my knowledge is also basic, as far as the hardware of a guitar is concerned. Here is my problem...

I bought a second hand Takamine EG363sc two days ago, but it has a very high action - First few frets are fine, but the gap increases up the fretboard. I have looked through many sites explaining about truss rod this and nut and saddle that, but my god is it a minefield of cautious interpretation. I suspected it may be a truss rod issue, because others have mentioned this model tends to bow (Though I can't tell by looking). However, the internet sites tell me this can be a dangerous practice and it seemed to favour decreasing the height of the bridge or saddle first. So, I took out the strings and took the bridge off and there was copper strips in it - Of course, it is a semi acoustic, never occurred to me that's where it conducts electricity! So I put the bridge back hoping I've not damaged the electrics and now I feel absolutely clueless what to do next. Could some kind soul advise me?

• Members

First, Sheepdog, let me welcome you to HCAG. I'll try to help (and there are several more folks who will chime in) but first I'm going to ask you to do some things. Please don't do any adjustments (truss rod) or other changes until we've talked this thru. My credentials, if it matters, is that I am an amateur guitar builder and I do a fair number of repairs and setups. I take a very systematic approach to every guitar that I work on, and I will try to talk you thru this.