Traveling to Vietnam and want a guitar!

Jacksonad

• Members

First off, hello! This is my first post on this board. I am a 33-year old guitar enthusiast. I read the entire 37-page thread started by Etienne Rambert back in 2009, and it made me extremely excited to visit some guitar shops (and hopefully factories/workshops) when I visit Vietnam next month. This is the thread that got me interested in checking out guitars there: http://www.harmonycentral.com/forum/forum/guitar/acapella-42/1313036-

I've been doing a ton of research about places to visit in both Saigon and Hanoi. However, a lot of the information I read was from old posts. Can someone who's been lately provide new information, as well as what I can expect to pay for a no-bling, good-quality, 000-size acoustic guitar? I'll probably buy one in Saigon because that's where my trip starts and I want to play a bit in the hotel rooms before bed. I can't wait to see guitar/luthier street! Also, I'm not very good at haggling over prices but I've read that it's a requirement over there. What can I expect the negotiating to be like (for example, do they start at $500, but expect to sell for $150?).

Also, would there be any way to see the factory that Etienne visited? I just got back from a tour of Santa Cruz Guitar Co. in Northern California, and I just love seeing how different people and companies make their instruments. Santa Cruz CEO Richard Hoover said during the tour that nobody should see how laws, sausages, and guitars are made ... but I 100% disagree!