Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MARTIN (body size) 000-15 vs D-15

guys, wondering does the body size differs each other? saw from the pics seems the same, mind teach me about the body size difference for acoustic guitar?

been playing full size dreadnought but yet to try out smaller body guitar, think they named it orchestra size? 00, 000... etc... i can see beside 'waistline' narrower, wondering is it thicker doby width,meaning deeper wider?

anyone tried all this range before,? mind elaborate?? found out John mayer/eric clapton signature also using 000 which is OM smaller size guitar? or is it just preference? better playability..

thanks in advance.. cheers...

P.S: i know u will ask me go try out my own, however i have transport problem, larger guitar shop are all far away my city. peace...

I'm not an expert by any means, but I have always liked the big, loud sound of a dreadnaught.

My brother plays a smaller-bodied (similar to 000) guitar. I said to him, "Isn't a smaller guitar not as loud as the dreadnaught?"

He said "It doesn't have to be louder because it projects better." In other words, it's not louder, but it just sounds like it.

From what I've read, bigger guitars are generally for strumming and rythm playing, and the smaller ones are better for leads and fingerstyle playing.
    The best piece of advice I ever got was when John Mayer told me, "Don't be a name dropper."

Comment

I'm not an expert by any means, but I have always liked the big, loud sound of a dreadnaught.

My brother plays a smaller-bodied (similar to 000) guitar. I said to him, "Isn't a smaller guitar not as loud as the dreadnaught?"

He said "It doesn't have to be louder because it projects better." In other words, it's not louder, but it just sounds like it.

From what I've read, bigger guitars are generally for strumming and rythm playing, and the smaller ones are better for leads and fingerstyle playing.