Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Busker in Paradise

I just posted this on Facebook. Thought it might be worth a mention to my like-minded brethren and sistren here:

I was just reminded of the time I worked as a "busker" in Key West. It was for about 2 hours on Duvalle street and I always wanted to do it, so I opened my guitar case for donations and played at South Beach, which is a tiny little man-made beach off Duvalle (obviously NOT THE South Beach in Miami.) I think I made about 6 bucks. Nice to have this to fall back on when and if I ever retire...or at least it's another check off the bucket list.
    The "artist" formerly known as RKO

Well hell, three bucks an hour ain't bad. I remember my first job out of high school. One dollar per hour, minimum wage, and I was glad to get it! Of course, that was 52 years ago. Worked a 45 hour week, so 5 of those hours were at $1.50 per hour.....Whoo-Hoo!!

Worked that job for three years because it was paying for my tuition through a night school course in electronics at what is now known as DeVry. After electronics school I scored a job that paid $100 per week! I thought I'd died and gone to Heaven!

And Bob said, "Oh The Times They Are A-Changin"..........
    Three Dreads......2 Martins and 1 YamahaA fiddle, a mando, a uke, eight harmonicas, a Zoom H2, a Panasonic recorder, coupla penny whistles, an Italian made Titano accordion, three handguns, at least a dozen chess sets, more power tools than Bob Vila, and one old Westclox "Big Ben" wind-up alarm clock that still works! Oh, BTW, I forgot to mention my ocarina and maracas.

Comment

Have they gotten uppity in Key West? They used to call it Duval Street.
      Proud reject from the HCAG Civil Posters Society, Martin snob, vitriolic sociopath, and tantrumist

Comment

I only "busked" once, and it wasn't even intentional. I really didn't even know what busking was ......