How to wire up on stage monitors question

BiggRedd

• Members

Not sure what category I should post this so since I'm a guitarist this is where it's going. Can move as necessary. Thanks. So I'm in a 90s rock cover band, 90s til dawn, and we have had to provide our own sound for a few shows. I have a basic 8 channel mixer with pa speakers that's been just good enough, but not enough. Got ahold of a Mackie 1604vlz mixer with 16 xlr inputs and 6 monitor channels. It's pretty sweet. I have a question though I'm confused about on using monitors on stage. Since I have 6 aux outs that I can adjust for on stage monitors does that mean I only have 6 channels I can use on monitors? Example, if I have 3 vocals and 3 guitars (1 is bass) and 5 drum channels, 11 channels total, would only the first 6 inputs be monitor mixable? So would i have to pick and choose what 6 instruments/vocals I want in the monitors and make sure their plugged into the first 6 channels? Been trying to watch YouTube videos and what not but just Need clarifying. Hope this makes sense.

Got ahold of a Mackie 1604vlz mixer with 16 xlr inputs and 6 monitor channels. It's pretty sweet. I have a question though I'm confused about on using monitors on stage. Since I have 6 aux outs that I can adjust for on stage monitors does that mean I only have 6 channels I can use on monitors?

I know this can be confusing, but no, that's not a limitation - you can monitor all sixteen input channels in the monitors if you want to.

The main mixer (L/R mix bus) combines all sixteen inputs at various different levels (set by the channel faders) and feeds that out to your main speakers, right? :)