1991 Peavey Predator Upgrades - Help

fithwillian

• Members

Hi all,

Long time lurker - first time posting here. Love this forum, such a wealth of good information.

As the thread title indicates, I picked up a 1991 Predator (script logo) last week for the bargain price of $40 from a seller on Craigslist. I had never played one before, but I've read many times that these are great guitars for the price (especially $40). I bought it with the intent of learning how to take a guitar apart, put it back together with upgraded equipment and have a nice, playable guitar, all without breaking the bank. To be clear, I have never done this before, so please excuse any errors in the following questions.

I searched the web and read just about every single forum/article I could find on the 90's Predators. What I gathered was:

- Tuners need replaced.

- Trem needs replaced.

- Nut needs replaced.

- Opinions are pretty mixed in regards to the stock pick ups. However, since I want to learn to do upgrades on my own, I've decided to replace them.

- Other electronics/switches COULD be replaced, but not necessarily a requirement. I've decided to do so, in the interest of learning.

- The body is solid poplar. (mine has a maple cap)

- The neck is great.

All that said, I have compiled a list of parts that I am planning to pick up for the guitar. I was hoping that someone here might be able to chime in with cheaper/better alternatives to my choices. Also, if you see I'm missing something (remember, I have no idea what I'm doing, LOL) please let me know. Finally, I just want to be sure that I've thought of everything that I will need.

Tuners - Wilkinson WJ55

link: http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Wilkinson-WJ55-Tuners-for-Fender-Stratocaster-Telecaster-etc-guitars-/111713629824

Bridge/Trem - Wilkinson WV6-SB

link: http://dragonfireguitars.com/Strat-Trem-System-Wilkinson-51-USA-Bridge-WV6-SB-Color-Choice-10299.htm?categoryId=-1

Nut - Graph Tech Tusq XL Fender-style Slotted Nut