Still have my 1st guitar some 24 years later. Tanara. Need suggestions for upgrades

BiggRedd

• Members

So I still have my 1st guitar that I started playing somewhere around 13 years old. It's a made in Korea Tanara strat that I have zero information on. No model # listed on it. It's in almost perfect condition. Think I paid around $170 for it back then. Has a bolt on neck. I wanted to play drums but my dad would only get me a snare with a rubber head and said I had to learn it the real way, with lessons. I started it and said screw this I wanna bang an entire kit. Since I couldn't I saw this guitar on the wall and said it's mine. So here I am some 24 years later with plenty of other guitars but still keep this out and about. I've been doing some upgrades slowly but surely. I've put new tuner keys on it, a new input jack and new pots on the pickup selector and volume/tones. I didn't really pay attention at the time what kind of pots to use, just bought whatever. So far they sound ok but may do some research going forward to make sure they're what I need. My main focus right now is what kind of pickups to upgrade to. Not looking for something too expensive and used is ok also. for this guitar I'd keep it as a light rock/blues guitar. Kinda Eric Clapton, maybe BB king type glassy clean/light distortions. I'm no guru so I have no idea where to start. It's a humbucker, 2 singles, 5 way pup selector. Once I get the pickup situation resolved any other suggestions on what might be a worthwhile investment on a good upgrade to this? I have a couple of nice schecters and a PRS in the stable fyi.

68e8c58acf936b22595322d2f9c779ad.thumb.jpg.0348bd4c87e7a76a6f40b333fb0e3558.jpg

• Members

Good looking guitar you've got there. I'd start with the bridge, either chuck the diecast saddles and block and upgrade to stainless saddles and a steel block (not brass) or get a full replacement. GFS has some nice trems with solid blocks.