Let's talk about cables...

RaVenCAD

• Members

I dig them (have quite a few).

I've played through many different types, expensive and cheap, and other than truly bad cables, it kind of comes down to HOW you want the cable to color your tone. Direct from guitar to amp, I'm a bit pickier, but the moment I have a few pedals or a buffer the cable is the least of my problems :smiley-lol:

• Members

I've been using the same pair of Whirlwind Leaders for almost 20 years. They've lived through incredible use, gigging literally nationwide.

FWIW, my view is that a "lifetime warranty" is worthless if the cable starts making noises or gives out during a gig or recording session.

Quality components and assembly are worth paying for if you are someone who is paid to perform. Nobody wants to hear excuses about your cables.

• Members

I'd have my tech put in new output jacks on my guitars, and he'd always say, "It's probably not your jack. Probably just your cable." Heh.

I owned a Fender Custom cable that costs $60, and it lasted a year. I had Giglines that lasted longer. Now, I'm using some brand that had woven thread and nice cable ends, but I don't recall the name. They've lasted me a while. I think there are more important components to tone quality than cables: strings, pick material, and how many pedals are in your chain.

• Members

Was wondering if someone can help...I have a Yamaha dtx 12 drum pads... which I believe has 2 unbalnced outputs..which I run to my Tascam vls5 moniters that have bal and unbalnced inputs..if the dtx12 has unba lnced can I just run it through a Mackie mix 5 mixer and that would convert my output signal to balanced to run to the Tascam moniters?

• Members
I'm looking to buy some good 10' - 15' cables. What are you guys using these days?

I'm runnin g a couple of haomemade cables with switch craft connectors and beldon cable. I have some whirlwind stuff too.

My pedal board has Lava solder-less EC connectors.