Noiseless / hum-free Strat pickups?

Phil O'Keefe

• Members

It's funny you would ask that. I bought a cheap Tele and went noiseless right away. Then last year I bought a new FSR Strat and found it to be much quiter than I expected.so I left the pickups alone.. This is odd because I'm usually very anal about hum.but it just sounds too good to mess with.. I'd be interested in finding out what everyone else thinks

• Members

Funny, I have a set of SCN just charring the shelf it's on. Oops bad metaphor! (purchased quite legally at MF) I have 4 strat types they could go in but I can't make up my mind. As far as single coil hum, I raised the coils to the recommended max and DUH,

THE SIGNAL TO NOISE RATIO BECOMES OPTIMIZED

Ok I'm a drummer so you tend to stumble through progress. Anyway, now I can crank the gain, use all the splits on the bridge, and no need for a gate. The hum is still there so recording would present different issues but for playing, the volume knob will do all the necessary noise reduction.

The SCNs will get installed once I've cracked the corksniffer maze.

• Members

I got one of the original JV strats in 1982 and there were some rooms where I couldn't use it because of the noise. I put some Lace Sensors in it which were a compromise in tone but worth it because they were quiet and I could play the guitar anywhere.

Chris Kinman claimed he had figured out how to get rid of the noise without the losses in tone. He claimed his pickups sounded so good the fact that they are noiseless is actually a bonus so I decided to try them. It was like getting the original pickups back but without the noise or the stratitus.

The Kinmans are expensive but I think they are worth the premium.

• Members

Well, there's Kinman and then there is the rest.

Soem ones to consider that can be overlooked are Fishman Fluence and Zexcoils, both reviewed highly but haven't tried them.

http://www.fishman.com/products/view...-width-pickups