Help with weird D string rattle, Gibson EXP

Exacto

• Members

Hello everyone! First of all I would like to say that I'm not a complete noob when it comes to guitar setup as I do that with all my guitars regularly. However I'm having issues with this Gibson Explorer. The D string has a weird rattle to it, I'm 99% sure it's rattling over the frets, but it shouldn't. I've purchased the guitar used and the frets had some wear on them so I had them levelled by my tech. He's not a master by any means but he does (in my opinion) a very good job on the fretwork. He did a few guitars for me and I had no complaints. This is also the 2nd guitar that I insalled the Earvana nut on (I like them), first one was a LP Studio. I've also replaced the saddles to GraphTech, but this was happening on the steel ones too (I suspected the D saddle to be cut to low compared to others). I've tried almost everything right now, I suspected the nut mainly, but the slot seems to be cut correct, not to deep (same depth as on my LP), still a lot of room between 1st fret and string after pressing on 3rd fret. String is not loose in the slot... I tried:

- shimming the nut, also putting paper in the slot under the string

- replacing the nut to the higher one from my Les Paul (You can replace the top part from the Earvana nut)

- raising the action (it kinda stops but at an unplayable string height, I set up my guitars at 1.6mm on low and 1.1mm on high E)

- adjusting the trussrod to stupid big relief (like 1.5mm or so, it's back to a slight relief in the video)

- replacing the string for a new one