Chord voicings

wankdeplank

• Members

OK so here's the scenario, you're learning a new song (an old standard, not one of your own), you download the tab or play it by ear, and realize there's something just a little off. It just doesn't sound the way you heard it on the radio. And then you try a different voicing or two and walla, that's it - now it sounds right. When I started playing, it was all open chords, or 5th or 6th string root bar chords. Finding out more and more that that B string root chord (D shape) fuels a heck of a lot of pop songs.

Can I get a witness? Anybody know what I'm talking about or even give a who?

• Members

Definitely!! If you play it like an "Amin7" shape with a partial barre it's like a mini "Cmaj" shape - that one gets used a lot in pop, reggae, calypso, funk...

It's hard to appreciate how cool this sounds until you do it in a band context with a bass guitar that can cover the root. It gives great separation between the parts and a tighter sound.

• Members
I hear you too Wankdeplank... The other day I was writing a song and couldn't find the transition from Bm that I was hearing in my head. I took the barre off the Bm and bang, it was exactly what I was looking for.

In case you're interested, depending on whether you were playing the Bm as an Am or an Em, the chord would be either D6/E (basically a variation on Bm7) or Emadd2.

• Members