string catches the edge of the fret

papaschtroumpf

• Members

My kid has a cheap strat copy (Rogue RR100) that is not half bad once he got it set up at a local shop. I started playing it just to experience a different neck from my Dot, and found a problem: the frets stick up from the wood at the edges of the neck, like if they weren't pounded in all the way in. That causes the lower E string to catch the rdgr of the fret and get stuck there sometimes (eg when strumming). The kid doesn't remember how long it's been that way (he doesn't play it much). I'm guessing this is not normal/on purpose right? That means the fret radius is larger than the neck radius? I live in Colorado where the air is very dry, is it the cause of it? What should I do about it? The guitar plays fine except for the string catching the edge of the fret. I originally thought of putting a dab of superglue in the notch of the fret to fill it in, but should I pound the frets back in instead? For a $70 guitar, I don't really want to go spend a bunch of money for repairs by a pro.

• Members

I would put a little oil on the fretboard and hopefully that will solve the problem. I have a maple fretboard Les Paul Junior that had a similar issue and this is what Gibson suggested and it solved the problem.

Failing that, you could try superglue. The reason I would not try that at first is that if the wood does move a little that could pop out the fret (at best) or crack the fretboard (worst extreme).

If the oil didn't work I may try filing a TINY bit on the fret end.

• Members
Does the oïl cause the fingerboard to swell a bit? If ont i'm ont sûre i understand that solution

I suspect the oil is a quick way to rehydrate a dried out fingerboard. The normal method is to keep the guitar in an environment with sufficient humidity (the case or a plastic bag) to address the problem but that takes time, which some folks aren't willing to invest. Gibson gave BG76 a quick solution.