Speaker cab build thread

OldBluesGuy

• Members

Well here goes... :)

Let me start off with a little background:

1. This build is being done on a budget - nothing real fancy

2. I have some experience with woodworking, but I'm no expert by any means

3. I have a good assortment of power tools, but they're not especially geared towards woodworking - like AJC says, you can build good stuff with lots of different tools, you may just have to spend more time on the project

4. This is my first attempt at a speaker cabinet

5. I will only be using basic techniques

6. I always practice shop safety - safety glasses, ear protection and all guards in place on all machines. I also take my time, measure twice and cut once

7. I will make mistakes on this build, I have already. Fixing them and finding my way back to a successful project is part of the adventure

I started out with a trip to the Depot for the lumber: 3 sheets of finished 3/4 x 2' x 4' birch plywood, 2 sheets of 1/2" x 2' x 4' interior grade plywood, 12' of 1" x 1" for bracing and 14' of 3/4" x 1" for attaching the front baffle and back panel. I also grabbed a 6' length of 2" x 1/8" aluminum flat stock to fashion my jack plates.

pic1.jpg

to be continued...

• Replies 119
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

After deciding on my finished size, 18.5" W x 18.5" H x 14.5" D, I planned out my cuts on the 3/4 birch and cut out my shell pieces. I'm building two 1 x 12 cabs, so I just cut twice as many pieces.

pic9.jpg

This 3/4 birch plywood looks great and is finished on both sides. A great deal from the Depot at $9.95 for a 2' x 4' sheet. I only have a station wagon, so it's great getting a good deal on the cut down sheets.

pic8.jpg