Does the guitar or amp make the bigger difference?

dyroot

• Members

Ive been playing guitar for almost 2 years now and have played on the same Ibanez SZ520 and 15W practice amp for the whole time. The guitar is not that bad, it was like a $500 guitar at the time and has some Duncan desgined pickups in it. Ive decided its time for a change, so which one should i upgrade, the guitar or the 15w amp? I have about $300 to spend on an amp.

• Members

It's really how they work together. A strat will sound a lot like a strat whether it's going through a DRRI or a Twin or a $100 Fender Frontman.

A guitar with an EMG 81 will sound kinds of metal through a Dual Rec, but will sound hopelessly harsh and pretty much like ass through the Frontman.

That same strat won't have a very full, meaty tone through that Dual Rec.

Having said that, if I had your setup, I'd absolutely be looking at replacing the amp LONG before the guitar. And maybe one or both pickups on the guitar to maybe tweak the tone of it. The 520 is a solid guitar.

What kind of music do you play the most?

• Members

Ive been playing guitar for almost 2 years now and have played on the same Ibanez SZ520 and 15W practice amp for the whole time. The guitar is not that bad, it was like a $500 guitar at the time and has some Duncan desgined pickups in it. Ive decided its time for a change, so which one should i upgrade, the guitar or the 15w amp? I have about $300 to spend on an amp.

The SZ520 is a really nice guitar and it is waaaaay better than your 15W amp is capable of showing off. You'd be a lot better off keeping your SZ and dropping three bills on a decent low watt tube or hybrid amp. Everyone and their cousin has an opinion on what amp to get but it would be hard to go past a Fender Super Champ XD for that sort of money.

• Members