Teach me about Strats

komodo117

• Members

I've been playing for several years now and as I learn more and study more and more guitarists, I realize that a vast majority of my favorite players are Strat players (Gilmour, Hazel, Beck, Lalonde, Belew). I've come to love that versatile, clear, single coil tone that I just can't get on anything else. Unfortunately, I've always neglected Strats in favor of more original and unique guitars, but I think it's time I sat down and started looking for one.

Anyways, there are countless thousands of Strats and I'm wondering if anyone can give me a brief overview of the differences between the majority of them, which most of you prefer, and what would work best for me. Such as: differences between different eras, neck variations, pickup variations, tonal differences between straight and slanted pup setups, etc.

Not expecting immediate answers, but any help is better than no help. I'm sure someone must be able to link me to some resources that have {censored}loads of Strat information.

Pretty much just looking for the perfect guitar that a small-handed, funk loving Eddie Hazel worshiper could appreciate.

• Members

For what you're asking, I'm wishing I had a bibliography to post ;)

Probably a good way to get acquainted is to look at the Fender site and read all the specs of the Strats that interest you. They make replicas and reissues of Strats of every era these days, so you'll get a basic sense of which eras are associated with which traits, e.g. maple or rosewood fingerboards, soft-Vs v. C-shaped, pickup types, etc. Of course, there will be exceptions and differences, but that and a good reading of some online histories should help you get a feel for the basics. Try looking at websites for larger-volume vintage dealers, too.

• Members

Uhh... I like the Red ones :wave: