A good small amp for hollow body (Godin Kingpin II)?

bullpencoach

• Members

Hi,

I'm about to purchase a Godin Kingpin II, and afterwards I'm going to get a new small amp to go with it. I'm more of an acoustic player, and I'm really just looking to find one relatively clean sound that I really love. Maybe a tiny bit of distortion if necessary. Kind of like what you might hear on a Cowboy Junkies record.

Any recommendations? The usual suspects seem to be the Fender Champion 600, the Epiphone Valve Jr., and the Vox AC4. I've thought about the Super Champ XD to get the delay and reverb, but I'd almost like to avoid all the other modeling features it has. I know there are boutique options that blow away the above, but I just don't have the money for them.

But I'm also new to hollow bodies, so there might be some peculiarities I'm not anticipating. Any advice is appreciated, and thanks in advance!

• Members

Tech 21 Trademark 30 would be a top choice for me. Solid state analog modelling, real spring reverb and big enough to take to a jam...yet still sounds good turned down. Also has a cab emulated line out to go to a recorder or pa. With a 10" speaker, it's big enough to sound good, but only weighs 15 pounds.

Champ 600 sounds killer with a Kingpin...but most amps I've heard with a Kingpin plugged into them sound pretty good. :lol:

Probably the best advice is to take your guitar to the store and try some out.

EG

• Members

I plug it into champ 600, it sounds killer but imo the amp is just too small for the big sound in that guitar.

Find a nice clean solid state amp, for example a roland cube 30, it's small and have a big good clean sound.

• Members