Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 70-71 Gibson SG Price Advice

This just popped up on my local CL. I emailed the guy and said I'd meet him tomorrow. Still waiting for a reply...

http://indianapolis.craigslist.org/msg/2445171689.html

Thoughts?
    LP Std/SG Classic > Classic 50 212

Good Deals: mrweems, costch

Definitely a cool guitar but I'd definitely check it out pretty well in person before I'd pull out that kind of cash. the whole removing the trem and sticking a tailpiece to it thing weirds me out about intonation.Then again i have no experience with a mod like this. I'm just going by some of the guitars that come into the store where I work. I've had some amazing guitars come through that were ruined by a hack job modification. I've scored some sweet modified guitars though. so i guess it's a toss up. Go try it out and take your time deciding on it. For that amount of cash there's a lot of great guitars out there.

Comment

Too high, IMO. Right off I can see the bridge is not original, and it looks like a refin as well. He says it has period correct features, instead of saying those features are original, which may be his way of hiding behind changed out pups, wiring, etc.
      Harold Horatio Heckuba (Triple H)

Comment

If the intonation is OK and it happens to play well, I'd grab it. The $800 price is to much since much of the originality is gone. If it happens to be a refinish, that really hurts the value seriously. You could always play the hell out of it and enjoy it though...isn't that what guitars are meant for??
        *********PROUD MEMBER OF THE GIBSON MAFIA***********
        Good Deals with: Box handler,the4thlast1,meowy,
        61reissue,Yavin,tspit74,musiclikscreams,Dega500,
        Powerglide350, Dark Sound,ambitot pu phan, DJFrank(x2),Salameri544,CRANK,BloodBros,ChuckMehh, Devnulljp,Dark Aegis,TheIgnoramus

*A couple of Gibson's, a cord, some dunlop picks and some cornbread...