Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need suggestions to what guitar to get

Hello there, I have been planning to get a guitar for way too long now, it is time to take action! After doing so much research, you eventually hit a wall where google is incapable of helping you.

I got many questions and I hope you can answer most of them, and maybe raise some new ones.

The music I would like to play is about anything really, from jazz and blues to rock and metal, (probably mostly metal and rock in the Metallica genre) and so the goal for me would be to get my hands on a very versatile guitar that can sound very alike the songs that I listen to (If even possible). I would really like to play slick clean sounds like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dnZdu4YpUMY

And that is probably what I am going to play most, followed by metal. I am no expert in this area, and you might just think "This guy doesn't know anything!" So feel free to input with whatever you might have at heart.

I will look into any suggestions you come up with.

If you have any questions, suggestions or opinions, shoot!

Lots of great options at many price points, so the question is, whats your budget for both guitar and amp?
    My Name is Tom Pettingill ... I build Hand Crafted Custom Lap Steel Guitars
    http://s302.photobucket.com/albums/nn87/tompettingill

Comment

First, what's your price range? My first thought is to get a PRS SE Custom 24 if you are on a budget, or a fancy PRS 24-fret model if you've got lots of cash.

Honestly, just about any guitar these days is versatile, what with the amp options we have, but for fat clean tones like in the clip and easy-to-get metal sounds, you need humbuckers. I like the ceramic Gibson 496R/500T set for this sound, which I think is stock on Explorers.