Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thin sound.

Played through a new rig last night which was my Les Paul into a 50 watt head into a 2x12. The guitar has Mighty Mite MB pick up on the bridge, the amp is a Laney Pro Tube 50 (valve), the cab is one I built similar to a Marshall 1936. Its got Celestion V30 s in it.

At stage volume, when playing solos, the sound was quite "shrill" and rather thin sounding.

Whats the culprit? Is it the pick ups? The cab?

Any help appreciated thanks.

I have no experience with those pickups, but shrill tones can occur with:

- Tubes that need replacing

- Speakers that need to be broken in

- Pickups that are wired incorrectly

Could be any of these, or something else entirely. Anything more you can tell us?
    Guitars: 3 Fender Strats, Fender Jazzmaster, Squier Bullet, 2 Gibson Les Pauls, Gibson ES-339, Gibson Les Paul Jr. Special, Epiphone Les Paul, Epiphone Dot, Epiphone SG, PRS SE Custom 24, Ibanez AS73, Hamer Duotone, Larrivee D-03R, Takamine EG5013S, 1951 Epiphone Devon, Ibanez SR305 (bass)Pedal Chain: BBE Green Screamer -> MXR Distortion III -> Boss CE-5 -> EH Stereo Pulsar -> Boss DD-20 -> BBE Boosta GrandeAmps: Vox AC4, AC15, AC30, Pathfinder 10, DA5SoundCloud

Comment

I have no experience with those pickups, but shrill tones can occur with:

- Tubes that need replacing

- Speakers that need to be broken in

- Pickups that are wired incorrectly

Could be any of these, or something else entirely. Anything more you can tell us?