Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's the most gibson-y fender?

I might be looking for something that looks better than that silly gimmicky supersonic and comes with two humbuckers that can get me as close as possible to the sound of an sg or les paul, without losing the playability and comfyness of a fender neck and 'countoured' light weight body...

That pretty much narrows it down to a blacktop jaguar hh and a hh strat...So should I put aside my aversion for the shorter scale of the jag, or will do the strat do just as good at mimicking lp/sg type tones? 

I know the title suggests I'm a hige noob. I'm not. I've decided I should stop trying to convince myself I can get into gibsons though. I keep buying and selling em again. I figured I still love the way they sound, I just always keep going back to my fenders, with the un-sticky necks, comfortable body shapes, etc...

Cheers.

This.

-
    Spam:
    FS: none
    I'm a GOLD TRADER
    Good deals: rusholmeruffian, rrancani, JohnnyRaincheck, mhn433, super56k, wagdog, cratz2, rxkid75, teletaylor
    Shamelessness: I do illustration & graphic design by commission, check my blogfolio: -- Matt White's Art --

Comment

• drivelikejoewho
      drivelikejoewho commented
      Editing a comment

twotimingpete wrote:

This.

At 2:47 he playes "Paid in Cigarettes" by Hot Snakes. Best. Guitar. Review. Ever.

Thanks for posting!

Well, they're both . 75" off the Gibson scale in either direction. I'd think you'd get used to either one in a week or so. The short scale isn't that much to get used to.