X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Top 5 Guitar Influences

I like lists. Who are your top 5 guitarist who have influenced you the most in playing and/or tone?

Mine are, in no particular order:
    Jonny Greenwood
    Pete Townsend
    David Gilmour
    Jimi Hendrix
    J. Mascis

Ty Tabor
    Pete Townshend
    Mike McCready
    Stone Gossard
    Billie Joe Armstrong

I first picked up guitar because of Green Day. It was the mid 90s, I listened to Dookie a lot, and I still love that guitar tone. Their songs were super easy, so it kept playing fun. I also learned Nirvana songs, but liked Billie Joe's tone and playing better. I then moved on/up to Pearl Jam, where I learned some soloing and more advanced rhythm stuff. After that, I started learning lots of Townshend. Ty Tabor rounded out my early influences, and I can still hear all those influences in how I play today. I still listen to The Who, Pearl Jam, and King's X a whole lot, and Green Day occasionally. Dookie is good exercise music.

<div class="signaturecontainer"><b>Guitars:</b> 3 Fender Strats, Fender Jazzmaster, Squier Bullet, 2 Gibson Les Pauls, Gibson ES-339, Gibson Les Paul Jr. Special, Epiphone Les Paul, Epiphone Dot, Epiphone SG, PRS SE Custom 24, Ibanez AS73, Hamer Duotone, Larrivee D-03R, Takamine EG5013S, 1951 Epiphone Devon, Ibanez SR305 (bass)<br><br><br><br><b>Pedal Chain:</b> BBE Green Screamer -&gt; MXR Distortion III -&gt; Boss CE-5 -&gt; EH Stereo Pulsar -&gt; Boss DD-20 -&gt; BBE Boosta Grande<br><br><br><br><b>Amps:</b> Vox AC4, AC15, AC30, Pathfinder 10, DA5<br><br><br><br><a target="_blank" href="http://soundcloud.com/andrewalderman">SoundCloud</a></div>

Comment

• Special J
      Special J commented
      Editing a comment

kayd_mon wrote:
      Ty Tabor
      Pete Townshend
      Mike McCready
      Stone Gossard
      Billie Joe Armstrong