Harmony Central Forums
Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do you warmup- and if so, whats in your regime?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you warmup- and if so, whats in your regime?

As the title states: do u warmup? and what do you do? im still a newbie (7 months exp) but recently i have developed a more structured regime to practising. i want to set aside atleast 30 mins a session to warming up- but im not quite sure if its a good routine

i basically play chromatics from 1- 24 frets, then i play arpeggios across 3-5 strings. then i pick a random scale and run thru it from ionian to mixolydian (do i really need locrian? ) across all their positions on the fret board alt picking. then 2 picks per note. then 3 till 5 picks per note for all the modes. by this time my fingers are pretty fluid and I can start learning new stuff. im jst curious to know if im missing something i may need to add or if its all good. im interested to hear everyone's warmup routine as well.

cheers!

I just jam over a rhythm track for about 20 minutes. I like the fact that since I start out cold, it's not just a bunch of wanking, I actually have to play musical ideas until I get warmed up. I mostly concentrate on having this phrase lead into that phrase which leads into this next group of phrases. After a while I start getting warmed up and start decorating the music with flashier stuff, instead of the other way around. I'll usually record a new rhythm track every few days - I need to always have something rather new to play over so I don't get bored and lose my inspiration.

There's also something nice about picking up a guitar for the first time all day and immediately trying to play music with it - it usually leads to some interesting ideas.
    Rock, or do not rock. There is no try.

Comment

Any particular tempo?
      Originally posted by Unconfigured Static HTML Widget...