When can I teach?

• Members

So I've been playing guitar for some time now (5+ years) and have played music for over 20 years, so the theory I'm good on. The basics of guitar I'm good on and even some intermediate things as well. I've got a good practice routine that I've found works for me and has worked for several people that I've "lent" it to. I'm curious what qualifies me to actually start charging for lessons? In other words, I feel that I'm more than qualified to teach kids for example, in both theory and guitar (even trumpet since that's my primary instrument) but I don't know what would actually give me the "right" for lack of a better term to charge for my services. Any advice?

• Members

Flexibility is key. You're going to get kids coming in who want to play all kinds of different things, and you're going to need to be able to indulge them. Nothing kills a kid's enthusiasm for the instrument faster than putting them through theory without putting it in context.

Structure and theory are important but in the end, those aren't the things that keep them coming back. Keep them playing what they want to play and keep encouraging them to stretch out, and they will start seeking knowledge on their own.

• Members

I like the answer that you can teach as soon as you have a student. I feel that if you believe strongly that you have someting to teach, and in a way that is better or more unique in some way than other the other teaching methods that are available, you should go for it.

Also, the best way to learn is to teach.

http://GuitarMore.com

• Members

Any advice?

I've kind of had two teaching careers - first one when I was in my late teens. I taught for about 5 years. Then an intermission while I toured the world with a band full time for almost a dozen years, then I started teaching again a few years ago.