I've found an easy way to learn chords

• Members

I've been playing for a few months now, and have all this time, been stuck at the first position with open chords just yearning to know chords anywhere except the first 5 frets.

I was looking through this huge chord Bible, just crushed with possibilities and the lack of knowing where to start, then it dawned on me... All chords are nothing more than patterns, repeating ones at that. I realized that a chord shape might change in fretting position, but never based on where it's rooted.

All chord shapes use the same string as their root note, I feel stupid that it took me this long to realize this, but suddenly just with realizing that, it's opened up the entire fretboard chord wise for me, I had to share it for anyone else that might be struggling to learn chords.

I've realized that I shouldn't learn chords, but chord shapes instead, since I already know where the notes are, since I've learned this, it's made things so easy.

My question is, why don't more people do this? I've spent forever learning online just surfing through crap, only getting suggestions to buy chord books, or take learning one fret at a time, only realize something on my own that helps, why don't more people teach this? Same concept with scales, so many things online talk of learning scales, and I spent forever learning their ways, only to figure out the best way to learn scales is again, mastering the shapes and how they fit together...at least for standard tuning...can't imaging how screwed I'll be when I go to tackle less common tunings...any tips for that too?

• Members

You seem to have hit on the great secret - which many of us self-taught players discover sooner or later - but there's one or two odd statements in your post, which are (on the face of it) not true:

"All chord shapes use the same string as their root note"