Need some effects advice

leevis

• Members

Hi All

I wonder if someone can help me. I am a bedroom guitarist and normally play guitar through my iMac using a variety of units. I started with a Line 6 Guitarport, then moved on to the Line 6 UX1 and now I am mostly using a Boss GT-001. I also own a POD X3 Live and various amps etc but i really enjoy being able to plug into the computer via the units, choosing a tone and playing along to whatever takes my fancy.

Anyways, i was wondering what everyone else does these days?

Is there anything better on the market than what i already own?

I notice there is Guitar Rig out there but is this any good or better than what i am using currently?

Just want peoples opinions on my next move

Thanks

Lee

• Members

man, "better" is always kind of a difficult thing.

I mean there's some technical aspects that could be better like in terms of noise, or weight, or interconnections or latency -- stuff that's measurable

but overall, I think if you don't have a deficiency somewhere..like if you are satisfied with the sound you are getting and all that now -- then I'd say you are all set.

You could put the cash toward maybe some other things...a different guitar for different sounds (like a 12 string or a sustainiac or an ebow or something.

or a funky effect that it's covered by your normal system - maybe a guitar synth/hex pickup type deal or a vocoder (just some ideas, not saying that's the way to go)

I know it's not a direct answer, but it's my thought on the issue - eh, hope it's just a perspective to consider if not an answer answer

• Members
Analog.