Pedal Power Supply Pin Sizes??

4stringer711

• Members

Hi. I have been using the Sabine NexFX tuning pedal for many years, but only on battery power. Recently I decided to use an external power supply. I have the Donner DPA-1 power supply for 5 pedals. There are no issues plugging in my other pedals, but the plug doesn't seem to fit the Sabine Tuner. It almost feels like the center pin on the Sabine Tuner is too large in diameter. The Sabine instructions say to only use the associated Sabine Power Supply. I didn't know if that was just a marketing tool or if the Sabine DC input was a unique size. It looks like both the power supply and the pedal are negative center configurations. I briefly considered getting a new tuner, but the one I have is very quiet and easy to see. Is there any type of adapter that will allow me to use a more "standard-sized" DC input? Thanks so much!!

• Members

Different pin sizes indicate the pedals designed for specific voltage, amperage, and possibly a different polarity. Do not attempt to use some adaptor unless you are dead sure these items are correct first.

In most cases I've seen, pin sizes are different voltages or currents.

The sabine power supply has a 2.5 mm Inside Barrel. Its voltage is Center negative

8 - 16 VDC @ 300 mA ---

The Sabine pedals are designed for their own multi pedal supply.

The wrong type of variable supply can cause a bad hum or smoke a pedal. Their power supply does say it will run non Sabine pedals so I'm guessing the reverse is true. You'd have to replace the connector for the proper 2.5mm type or you could try a battery clip adaptor which are available for many vintage pedals. Voodoo labs should have them. I know Spot One does. I've done this to many vintage pedals by cutting a slot for the wires from the bottom cover.