1st Guitar Project - tips / advice / judgement?

gambit

• Members

so i've decided to try and put together a couple of guitars, since it seems to be pretty affordable now and i can make something a little different.

i guess i'll update this thread as i progress over the next month or two.. it would be good to hear any input, and advice while i'm making decisions on what to do, and it'll be cool to document the process somewhat. and maybe help some other 1st timers out in the future.

so.. Part 1:

I bought two Tele Deluxe body's from guitarbuild.co.uk

- £75 / $126... in total !!

- Both 2-piece > 1 is Swamp Ash, the other is Alder

i started playing around with some mockups (using 'kisekae VIM' ) with the idea of a Tele Deluxe with a Jazzmaster/Jaguar tremolo.. and either Fender wide range humbuckers, or Cabronita pickups..

fetch?filedataid=102272&type=large

fetch?filedataid=102277&type=medium

pretty interesting look.. here's all the stuff running through my head..

Aesthetics / Pickups

I think Fender wide range pickups look great on Tele Deluxe's and Jazzmasters because the oversized pickguard manages to calm what would otherwise be an enormous-looking pickup on a smaller pickguard. definitely having one of these with WRHP's.

The Cabronita/Fidelitron pickups look fairly out of proportion to me on that big old Deluxe pickguard. the Filtertron's with massive mounting brackets look ugly.. so maybe ruling out these types of pickups, unless i come back to regular-humbucker sized pickups, in which case you can get pretty much whatever sound you like. but what other pickups would look proportional and sound great?..

Jazzmaster pickups!?.. could be a definite contender! JM pickups aren't an option on that kisekae thing though unfortunately.

Neck / Finish

Having tried a Tele Deluxe and a Tele Custom, i'm pretty confident i prefer the tele neck on the Custom vs the Strat neck on a Deluxe.