Ibanez TS-9 vs TS-9DX vs TS-7

Inertiatic_SKS

• Members

So what's the pros and cons of these OD pedals? I tried out the regular TS-9 and loved it, but couldn't try out the TS-9DX due to time constraints and the GC I tried it at just didn't have the TS-7. Since the TS-9DX is an extra $10, should I go with it? I can get it cheaper via my friend at the GC.

And what is the TS-7 like? Improved version of the TS-9? Scaled down?

• Members

Originally posted by killyridols

Go with the ts-7. Same exact circuit as the ts-9, plus it has the "correct" chip. Also the Hot mode on the 7 is quite usable.

Plus, by changing two resistor values you get an instant 808

Woah, can a modding n00b do this? I've never done any modding or soldering ever and that just gives me a boner thinking about it.

• Members

Originally posted by molsen

you can easily do the transistor mods. i was a noob modder and added a toggle switch and replaced a capacitor in my TS9 with no problems. joo can doo it mang!

Yup, I did this myself, not too difficult. The TS7 does come with the famous JRC4558D chip, but I've come across two chips that I think sound a good deal better to me. One is the RC4558P (used by a lot of boutiquers) and the other is the TL072. The latter is my favorite of the two. Anyway, yes, the 808 mod is very easy. I went a little crazy with mine, adding on four toggle switches. I would have put in more, but I couldn't realistically fit any more!

DSCN0074.jpg

• Members

Originally posted by Eric Dahlberg

It sounds like you're getting the TS9DX for cheap, in which case it may be worth sending it to Keeley. Otherwise, get the 7.

Well, normally, the TS-9 is $100 and the TS-9DX is $110, so my friend said it would probably be $85 with his discount. I think I might go with the TS-7 and get my friend to help me mod it.

• Members