Transformerless Tube Amp????

WRGKMC

• Members

I was looking for info on magnetic compression created by tube transformers and stumbled upon an amp design that uses tubes with

no output transformers and therefore has no coloration caused by the transformers inductance. as a bonus the amps will use just about any

power tube and have no speaker impedance limitations.

Because I'm an electronic tech this does sound like Voodoo magic to me. I need to find more information on it before I'd consider it

a good alternative to a traditional tube amp. Something must convert the high voltage, Low current from a power tube to low voltage high current.

We all know its the current that makes the speaker coils move, not the voltage.

I first found this article about the negative side effects of a tube transformer. http://milbert.com/tubes_vs_transformers

It has some valid points but its obviously written by someone who goes way overboard evoking science fictional magic mixed in with facts to hype the

design way beyond what's needed. When someone attempts to bash one technology to promote another it sets up red flags on my radar.

It may appeal to non technical types who are often willing to not only purchase snake oil but actually drink it, but its only going to alienate educated

electronic techs and engineers like myself who would normally promote new technical designs. We may find stuff like UFO's and Chariot of the Gods interesting

to ponder but we do need hard proof that isn't laced with snake oil to sway people into believing something's revolutionary. After all the laws of physics are based in truth, not fiction.

Here's one of the amps this company makes. http://milbert.com/gaga/?db=1

I'm still looking for some actual technical description one what's used to convert the high voltage to high current.

If a transformer isn't used then what is?

• Members
... If a transformer isn't used then what is?