Acoustic Guitar Amp Revisited - Best Options to Get Started

Moonlight Blue

• Members

The last discussions on acoustic guitar amps is far too old and we need to refresh the topic. Here we are:

I am looking for a small amp to get started with a brand new electric-acoustic Godin nylon string guitar. In my preliminary research I found a few worthy contenders:

- Marshall AS50D;

- Fender Acoustasonic 90;

- Behringer Ultracoustic AT108;

- Fishman Loudbox Mini 60-Watt; and

- Stagg 10 AA.

All seems reasonably priced but I have no experience with any and my local guitar stores do not carry any at this time.

Take your pick. I am not looking for the best necessarily, but for a decent amp for a beginner to intermediate acoustic player.

• Members

Of your choices, I'd avoid the Behringer and Stagg. Cheap and underpowered. The others should be okay. Check out your local CraigsList for a used bass or keyboard amp. They do a good job for acoustic guitar. Peavey gear is decent and usually undervalued. Here are a few possibilities:

http://orlando.craigslist.org/msd/4976698144.html

http://orlando.craigslist.org/msg/4934360338.html

http://orlando.craigslist.org/msg/4920769392.html

http://orlando.craigslist.org/msg/4958280699.html

• Members

Is it just me or did you not link to a single acoustic guitar amp? Bass amps may 'work', but will not be ideal or as versatile as acoustic amps.

Genz, Fender, Fishman, Marshall, AER, Roland, those are the brands I can think of in no time lat that make great acoustic guitar amps.

• Members

First, a bass or keyboard amp will do a very good job with acoustic guitar.

Second, if there were an acoustic amp available for a reasonable price I would have linked to it.

Third, where are all the links you must no doubt be able to produce "in no time flat"? I don't see any.