How can a 15 watt amp cost this much?

Geno_xl

• Members

just seems strange when you get a 120 watt half stack for about the same or a little more.

I've never played on a 15 watt tube amp though. I have a low wattage solid state tube amp from back in the day that was 30 watts and there is no way it would be loud enough to play with a drummer though.

I guess I'll have to wait to hear it.

• Members

I've been gigging with 17 watt amps for about 4 years. I've never been asked to 'turn up'. I've been asked more than once to turn down.

and $499 is cheap for an all-tube amp. Of course, it's a pcb, and crate, but still... what's the 'new' price on a blues jr?

• Members

just seems strange when you get a 120 watt half stack for about the same or a little more.

I've never played on a 15 watt tube amp though. I have a low wattage solid state tube amp from back in the day that was 30 watts and there is no way it would be loud enough to play with a drummer though.

This would imply that solid state amps and tube amps are equal in terms of tone and in terms of volume. Wattage is the most irrelivant figure in terms of figuring out how an amp sounds. There is more that goes into an amp than simply power.

I have a feeling you'll be pleasantly surprised at what a 15 watt tube amp will do.

• Members

Um, yeah, you can get a 120 Watt half stack for about the same price, but it is most likely going to be a {censored}ty solid state amp. There is a big difference between a 120w tube and 120w SS.

Just to make an example: I have a 80w Peavey SS and a 30w Peavey Tube amp. Suprise!!! The 30w tube amp is waaayy louder.

What do you mean, you have a "low wattage solid state tube amp from back in the day that was 30 watts"? Solid state tube amp? What does that even mean? I'm guessing you mean a SS amp with a tube pre amp, which is definitely not going to be very loud.

Don't knock a 15w tube amp for $499. That actually isn't very expensive.

• Members