Marshall 6100LM Opinions and Experiences

chriscnb

• Members

I may have the opportunity to trade my Tremoverb for a 6100LM. First, is this an even trade? I don't know the going rate for these and there was only 1 black one that ended ridiculously low on eBay.

The 6100 is a Marshall I have no experience with, much less have even seen in person. I've owned most of the modern Marshalls (2204, 2205, 900mkiii 2500, 4100, DSL50, 2266, 2466, JVM) so I'm pretty familiar with them. What are these closest to?

Anyone have any good clips?

Overall impressions? Reliability?

• Members

The last few times I've priced out black tolex 6100s, they always seem to be around $750.

Their owners always claim that they're worth $1200, but I've yet to see evidence to back it up.

It's actually a blue tolex with white logo. Are the LM's loaded w/ 6L6s?

Should I be asking for a little cash on top?

• Members

probably the first, the best and the last modern Marshall that was ever made. Great cleans, solid crunch. Takes mods very well.

Some people complained about their reliability, but we've bought/repaired a dozen. Nothing much different from a regular marshall, except they're a bitch to service.

Hear it before you buy though, some revisions (?) did not sound good "out of the box". I think Marshall did a lot of experimenting with these amps. the 6L6 version sounded surprisingly good (this comes from a EL34 guy :) )

• Members

In europe they pop up for real cheap. But, if the midi chip goes and you can't find one (and it is not so easy as it is seems to be a marshall thing exclusive or whatever so even ebay doesn't help and marshall doesn't make it anymore) you have a brick PS3, sorry marshall.

There are ways to improve the reliability but I have not read for one that will protect the midi chip if a tube blows (which has caused some of these phenomena).