Time to go tube, what should I do?

Orion_99

• Members

I am a noob to the forums, although I have read through them on numerous occasions. I am also new to all tube amps.

I currently have a Marshall AVT150H and a Crate 4x12 cab with Celestian Seventy 80s. The head has more power than I need and sounds too cold for me. I play a variety of music, Metallica, Megadeth, A7X, GNR, Zeppelin and lots in between. I'm a hobbyist and play at home only. I do like it loud on occasion though.

I am looking for a versatile amp that can cover a range of sounds well, but doesn't have to be perfect. For a long while I was set on a Fender Super Champ X2 head as it seems to have the variety I am after. 15 watts through my cab should be more than enough. I have also thought about a Bugera 333XL. I can get a head for around $400 or a brand new combo for $500, (old stock).

My budget tops out at $500 and please keep in mind that I am in Canada so pricing on used stuff seems to be more that what it goes for in the US. 

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks.

Rob.

• Members

I sound like a broken record in all of these 'which amp' threads, I always recommend some Fender or Marshall, no matter what style of music:)

They're the two brands I happen to have a bit of experience with.

But I can't think of many Marshalls or Fenders that are both somewhat versatile, as well as affordable:s

Haven't even messed with Blackstar enough myself, but a lot of people -including a buddy of mine- seem to love 'em. One of those HT-5s for sintance...Sounds okay in the online clips, it's versatile, cheapish,...

• Members

From the music you play and the fact you only play at home and never need to be real loud, Id say you dont really need a tube amp. But if you want one go ahead. Id get something simple and learn how to use it.