Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unbelievable but true - Gig report from me

Some of you might remember the troubles of my marginalized lil' orchestra Jubie playing instrumental, improvised music.

We couldn't get a gig to save our lives
    and I strongly believe it's necessary to play to an audience. For about a zillion reasons...

Anyway - we got a gig and performed yesterday night!!!! Happy, happy!!! and here's the gig report, remember I'm new to this :

I got home after work and packed all my things except the amp, spkr and the reel-to reel tape deck I use for delays. I got it all packed into a gigbag and a medium sized shoulderbag. Let me tell you, they are stuffed. Five pedals, ten cables, minidisc, adapters, srcrewdrivers, batteries, strings, slide, ebow, tuner, gaffer tape, etc and my electric guitar.

I got there 90 minutes prior to the doors opening and got to hear the other band supporting us do some sound checking. They played pretty well and with enthusiasm, sounded a bit like
    Rush plus keyboards. The empty room sounded awful, a stone floor and concrete walls. Luckily the ceiling was
    wooden and the place was rather big
    so at least there was no big resonances in the lows.

At about 1900 hours I got to set my **************** up. I soon discovered that the mains was really crappy with lots of nasty hum and of course the promoter
    didn't have a clue about that or anything else. Friendly guy though -
    a music fan.

I quote: "Dressing room? I don't know...
    ". You get the picture - no dressing room. While the other band played
    I got comfy on the floor outside the toilets, warming up, tuning up and generally chillin'. Oh, the glamourous life of a musician.

The show: we started out much like the way we usually do. Sounding somewhat
    like some indian music or some impressionistic prelude to something, just making noises centered around