Favorite guitar solo

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Favorite guitar solo

What is your favorite guitar solo?
    I am definately not a lead player, my fingers just refuse to work like that. I've been playing for 7 years now and can't manage a solo to save my life, but it is tempered by the fact that I truely dislike 98% of guitar solos. It seems I'm not really a fan of how guitars sound...LOL
    Anyway....every once in a while I hear a solo that I really, really do like.
    My favorites (at least at the moment) are:

There you are. What can you deduce from my choices about my guitar style?

What are yours?
    I thought it was going to be different;It turned out to be(,) just the same.

Unquestionably Johnny Winter's work on "Be Careful With a Fool" on his first self-titled Columbia release album. From his attention grabbing opening lead statements, to his fills, extended solo and ending - all of it. Amazing stuff IMHO.
    A forest is in an acorn.

HCGB Trooper #217

Comment

Perhaps Steve Khan's solo on "Modern Times"
      Originally Posted by Dew Knot Hump

Those guitars are uglier than Rosie O'Donnells ass-crack and the amp is like this forum, too many knobs.

Comment

David Gilmours lead on "Money" always gets me to feel that way cool heavy guitar vibe, the one that makes you feel like your chest is going to explode.
        It's not particularly difficult to play or technically complicated but the way it sounds in context with the music, the song, makes it one of the all time great leads in my book.

I personally like long leads and music without vocals or words.
        I listen to a lot of live recordings so my favorite leads tend to change every three to six months.

Been listening to a lot of Scofield lately.

Comment

Norsegod, you are so right about DG in "Money"!

And I will now expose my vulnerable body parts to flaming by mentioning that I love a lot of Jerry Garcia's leads in live Grateful Dead recordings I've heard...