X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I will never shop at Daddy's Music Again

I go into Daddy's looking to buy a new tuner and a strap and couple sets of strings. I also inquire about servicing that GK amp I just got (has a hum). I tell the guy that it's my first time in his store and I usually shop at 2 other stores. Both of which are only 5 min away from his store. He spends time telling me how much better shopping with him is than them.

I go to check out and my total is about $70, I say to him how about cutting me a small discount on the price (5%) he looks at me like I'am crazy and says NO! He then tells me if I want to buy a $20 discount card then he can give me 5% off on some of the iteams.

I have shopped at many different music stores both big box and private onership and this is the first time they didn't knock off at least 5% to make the customer happy. I mean that's how a music store works.

I told him to keep his strap and all but one set of strings. (I didn't have time to go anywhere else or I would have not bought anything) End result I spent $30 and he gained a smaller sale with no discount, but lost me ever going into his store (or any Daddy's) ever again.
    I'd like to be your friend, but you keep locking me out of your house.

Usually I will give a new customer a discount, but I didn't like your looks.
    Brian

"it aint nothin' but a jam"
    -Jimi Hendrix 10-10-68

Comment

I'll try to work out a discount if I'm buying something big ticket like a guitar or amp - something costing hundreds of dollars. But for odds and ends like strings, straps, picks, couple of cables, etc. I think you can pretty much expect to pay list.

Most stores keep their markup on these everyday items pretty low cuz they know it gets people into the store and gasing for the big ticket items.

Comment

Originally posted by 2manband