Harmony Central Forums
Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

What should you know before you start/join a band?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What should you know before you start/join a band?

Evening folks.

So i've been playing the guitar for about six years now, I've had a few jams with friends when I just started out and we all know how that sounds. Now, I realised I wanted to start or join a blues band that can just hangout, have a few beers and play the local bars. But I don't know what I should know after six years, I mostly play around at the fretboard and doing licks that sounds in key.

So what do -you- think somebody should know before even thinking about joining a blues band?
    I don't mean "blues songs duh", more in the terms of scales, tempo, picking, bending, vibrato kinda things.
    Im terrible at playing/learning other people's blues songs from tabs found around the internet.

Max

well now...you wanna be a blues musician? Forget the scales except minor pentatonic.Timing is a part of it, but the real key (IMHO) is phrasing and knowing when to NOT play

Youtube is a blessing I wish had existed when I was starting out.

Pick out 25 blues songs. Try to NOT pick all 12 bar, I-IV-V progressions. Find them on youtube if they are there, and learn them...there are usually plenty of blues tutorials as well for free. Unless you are learning an iconic song like 'Hideaway' (which, btw is a great one to learn, as it has almost every riff Freddie knew in it...the other two are in 'The Stumble'   ), don't learn it note for note, learn the song, learn the signature riffs, but not the solos; the beauty of the blues is you can always muck around with it.