What's the best guitar synth?

mhuxtable

• Members

Hey guys it's my first time posting in this forum.

I'm very soon going to be the proud owner of a Moog guitar! If I get the midi option, what's the best guitar synth out there? No rack units please...I prefer floor stomp boxes....and preferably under $1k. I don't want one for guitar sounds....I want synth, strings, creaky old piano, woodwinds, spacey things, etc.

What should I look into?

I've been reading some posts and it is quite daunting, the world of midi guitar? I guess the main thing is, what do I need? I won't need a pickup...the moog guitar has that built in. So I'll need a box that converts the signal to sound....and I like some spacey and weird sounds! Haha but also the ability to edit them. I really wish I could use all my VSTs in my computer in a box...is that possible?

So give me a start to finish overview of what I'm getting into here. Thanks!

• Members

Are you more into synthesizer sounds or processed guitar? Can you stomache or tolerate a delay from playing a note to hearing a sound?

The new GR-55 is supposed to have the fastest tracking of any guitar synth ever but the Roland VG-99 has "synth-like" sounds that require no tracking thus no delay.

Spacey and weird sounds?

Check this out:

http://aliensporebomb.bandcamp.com/

Check out "atmospheres" or "before sleeping" and all of that is created by the VG-99 without any external synths or indeed any synth sounds at all, it's just heavily processed hexaphonic guitar sounds.

"Distant Warning" is all VG-99 but there's one GR-300 bass sound at one point (the VG-99 has a virtual GR300 in it).

And the track "Ethereal world" is all VG-99 sans synth too. The VG-99 has a guitar-to-midi converter in it.

Caveat: I'm told it's not as good as the converter built into the GR-55 but here's a piano track I did with it and it kept up on the really fast ascending scale at the end of the piece.

http://madsound.dyndns.org/vg99/midi/asb-mystica.mp3