No announcement yet.

Critique self taught guitarist, 10 years, voodoo chile

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Critique self taught guitarist, 10 years, voodoo chile

Hi Ive played guitar in my bedroom taught via internet and books for 10 or so years on and off.

‚ÄčThe other day having not played guitar much last few years blasted out a one take live improvised solo over Voodoo chile backing, not trying to copy Hendrix to much doing my own thing.

‚ÄčInterested to hear others thoughts on my playing...Cheers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FRN4kym4HG8

Interesting interpretation.
    http://thebasement.createaforum.com/

Comment

sounds like me around 1974...right on schedule...except I was in working bands before that ...but I sang...even fronted my own power trio. 'Do, or do not...there is no try.'
      Last edited by daddymack; 04-29-2017, 10:19 PM.
      "We are currently experiencing some technical difficulties due to reality fluctuations. The elves are working tirelessly to patch the correct version of reality. Activities here have been temporarily disabled since the fundamentals of mathematics, physics and reason may be incomprehensible during this indeterminate period of instability. Normal service will be restored once we are certain as to what 'normal' is."

Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally used up and worn out, shouting '...man, what a ride!'
      "The greatness of a man is not in how much wealth he acquires, but in his integrity and his ability to affect those around him positively" ~Bob Marley

Comment

so it sounds decent but not professional? You can tell ive not been taught etc? bit raw?

Comment

• daddymack
          daddymack commented
          Editing a comment
          yes, by today's standards, raw, and a bit stiff. Work on getting out of the box patterns, playing outside the pentatonics.