How to Make These Vocals Less Strenuous and More Powerful

Gallant

• Members

Hi!

A little background: I have trained my vocals with a college instructor for roughly four years, I haven't had a lesson in nearly two. The reason I say this is because I had posted on Yahoo forums only to be lectured without constructive criticism by someone who had the information I was asking about only because I was hoping someone would provide it free of charge. I am a student. I am also broke. Whenever I can afford to, I will reinvest in a vocal coach because I am aware that not having one has lead me to developing bad habits.

My techniques are full of bad habits. I need help analyzing them and figuring out what I can do to release the tension and build a stronger, healthier voice.

Anyways, here is a song of mine.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-UlU1l7bXxUMFlWa3ZhbGlsd3M/view?usp=sharing

I did every part by myself, I also produced it with Cubase LE 5 and Ozone, but I am a crap producer and I don't have great equipment. The vocals are also completely random and nonsensical because I am strapped for time and am more concerned about having healthier vocals than focusing on my production skills. This song was really just an effort to get myself out there in the first place, but I'm apprehensive to advertise myself because of the vocals.

Here are a few more random examples.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-UlU1l7bXxUOUZ1MlkxRENmXzA/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-UlU1l7bXxUUk83RThIYjZVMDg/view?usp=sharing

I'm bothered by this in a few ways. For one thing, there's no smoothness in my tone. For another, I'm shouting at times. I am very fond of the distorted belt, one used by my favorite singer, Jonny Craig. This song here is amazing, it's my goal to be able to sing this correctly without strain in my own unique voice.

But, I would be content with starting off this song correctly without strain to build up to more challenging techniques.